Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Europe

The Europe System

To ensure that the EU can properly fulfill all its tasks, it is structured according to a certain system with many different institutions. We briefly explain what these facilities do and what they mean.

The Europe System

The European Parliament

It took many years for the European Parliament to have as many rights as today. There are currently 751 MPs from 28 nations. In the European elections, they are directly elected by the citizens of the member states and represent around 512 million citizens. The European elections take place every five years. The next election will take place in May 2019.

Each country has an exact number of seats, from Germany there are currently 96 according to

The European Parliament

Just like in Germany, there are members of parliament in the parliament who belong to different parties. Parties with the same goals you have in fractions summarized. The SPD is, for example, in the fraction of the European Socialist Party, the CDU in the Christian-Democratic fraction.

An important area in the European Parliament are the so-called "standing committees". There are 20 standing committees that deal with various topics: one of them is the Committee on Culture and Education.

Between 25 and 78 members work on the committees. The parliamentary committees meet once or twice a month in Brussels, the capital of Belgium. The members deal with a topic for many years. This makes them good experts and enables them to work on new guidelines and regulations.

European commission

It consists of 28 members. They are called "commissioners". The governments of the member states propose the commissioners. The European Parliament must agree with the commissioners. You remain a member of the commission for 5 years.

Although the commissioners are appointed by the member countries, they do not act for their country. They should be independent and can only do tasks for the EU.

The Commission proposes the guidelines and regulations to be adopted by the Council of the European Union. Only the Commission can do that. She also determines when and how often she does this. The Commission is careful to ensure that the new guidelines and regulations are properly applied in the member countries.

Council of the European Union

Council of the European Union

The Council of the EU is voting on new guidelines and regulations so that they can become valid. The Council is the main decision-making body of the EU.

The Council of the European Union consists of ministers. The ministers always come from the member countries. Depending on which directive is currently to be adopted, there are other ministers in the commission.

If, for example, a directive for children and young people is to be adopted today, the ministers for youth are there today. If a directive on car traffic is adopted tomorrow, all transport ministers will come. This ensures that the ministers who know best about the subject always vote on the directive.

The president changes every six months. The president is always the head of government of a member state. When all countries have had their turn, you just have to start all over again. From January to June 2007, German Chancellor Angela Merkel was President of the EU Council.

European Council

Members are the heads of state and government of the member countries. From Germany this is currently Angela Merkel. The European Council sets new goals and tasks to be accomplished in the coming years. The members meet twice a year.

European Court of Justice

The European Court of Justice is the court for the EU. If there is a dispute over the new EU directives and regulations, the judges must settle the dispute. Everything that has been decided here applies to all people in the EU. There is no other court that can change the decision of that court.

European Court of Auditors

Here it is calculated exactly how much money was spent by the EU. The Court of Auditors also checks whether it was allowed to spend the money. However, he may not impose penalties if too much money has been spent.

Countries in Europe
  1. European Union
  2. Aland
  3. Albania
  4. Andorra
  5. Austria
  6. Belarus
  7. Belgium
  8. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  9. Bulgaria
  10. Croatia
  11. Czech Republic
  12. Denmark
  13. Estonia
  14. Faroe Islands
  15. Finland
  16. France
  17. Germany
  18. Greece
  19. Hungary
  20. Iceland
  21. Ireland
  22. Italy
  23. Kosovo
  24. Latvia
  25. Liechtenstein
  26. Lithuania
  27. Luxembourg
  28. Malta
  29. Moldova
  30. Monaco
  31. Montenegro
  32. Netherlands
  33. Northern Macedonia
  34. Norway
  35. Poland
  36. Portugal
  37. Romania
  38. Russia
  39. San Marino
  40. Serbia
  41. Slovakia
  42. Slovenia
  43. Spain
  44. Sweden
  45. Switzerland
  46. Ukraine
  47. United Kingdom
  48. Vatican City

e Country Facts Copyright 2005 - 2020 All Rights Reserved