Map of Marshall Islands Majuro

Marshall Islands 2005


According to ehistorylib, in 2005, the Marshall Islands had an estimated population of 54,000 people with a population growth rate of 1.3%. The economy in 2005 was largely based on fishing and tourism, with major exports including fish and copra. Foreign relations in 2005 were largely focused on development assistance with the Marshall Islands receiving aid from a number of countries including the United States, Japan and Australia. The politics of the Marshall Islands in 2005 were dominated by President Kessai Note who had been elected to office in 2000 after a highly contested election which had resulted in violence between supporters of different candidates. Note’s government implemented major economic reforms aimed at improving living standards for all Marshallese citizens as well as encouraging foreign investment.

Yearbook 2005

Marshall Islands 2005

Marshall Islands. In May, the Marshall Islands government submitted its demands to the United States Congress for increased compensation for damage caused by the 67 nuclear explosions the United States made on the atolls in 1946-58.

According to countryaah, Majuro is the capital and one of the major cities within the country of Marshall Islands. The Marshall Islands requested just over US $ 3 billion in extra compensation for the damage as well as health care support. The US government has previously granted $ 270 million in compensation, some of which has been paid out, but that is not enough in the Marshall Islands. Previously, there was also a health care program for the victims of the nuclear tests, but it was suspended in 2004 since the US withdrew its support. The United States claims that only four atolls – Bikini, Enewetak, Rongelap and Utirik – were affected by the radiation, but according to Marshall Islands leaders, many more islands were affected.

  • Also see for how the acronym MH stands for the country of Marshall Islands and other meanings of this two-letter abbreviation.

Map of Marshall Islands Majuro

The US Senate had requested an investigation into the cancer risk presented in April. The study, conducted by the American National Cancer Institute, estimated that another 500 of the people exposed to the radiation in 1946-58 will be affected by cancer.

In early 2005, the US government said no to more damages, but following pressure from Congress, President Bush granted $ 1 million to the Marshall Islands health care program in 2006. In addition, the government gave $ 1.8 million to a food program at Enewetak.


The Ratak Islands were first seen in 1526 by the Spanish GarcĂ­a de Loaysa. In 1788 T. Gilbert and J. Marshall recognized them and baptized the archipelago. From 1885 to 1914 they were a German protectorate. The Japan the term was in 1922 and annexed in 1935. During the Second World War the archipelago passed under the trusteeship of the United States which ended in 1990. Since 1991 the Marshall Islands are part of the UN. Political life was marked by the question of using the islands as a base for American nuclear tests and then as a repository for the disposal of waste. In 2003, the free association agreement with the United States was renewed, which provides for a twenty-year aid program. The financial regime granted by the Marshall Islands to foreign capital has raised international controversy, but in 2007 the Marshall Islands have undertaken to guarantee transparency and the effective exchange of information in the fiscal field and the OECD removed them from the list of havens tax. Contesting an alleged violation of international obligations on the cessation of the nuclear arms race and on nuclear disarmament, in April 2014 the Marshall Islands sued nine countries before the International Court of Justice: China, France, India, Israel, Pakistan, United Kingdom, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Russia and the United States. Of these, only India, Pakistan and the United Kingdom have recognized the Court’s mandatory jurisdiction over legal matters affecting them. In January 2016, at the end of the mandate of C. Loeak, C. Nemra was elected to the presidency of the Republic, who was however disheartened after only two weeks. In its place, Parliament elected H. Heine, the first female president in the country’s history.